Home » List of Counties That Have Debated Ekuru Aukot’s Punguza Mizigo Bill

List of Counties That Have Debated Ekuru Aukot’s Punguza Mizigo Bill

Dr. Ekuru Aukot, Thirdway Alliance Party Leader and Punguza Mizigo Bill Architect

On the 9th of October, a alrge number of counties rejected the Punguza Mizigo Bill than any other day.  Bungoma, Laikipia, Nyeri, Kakamega and Tharaka-Nithi Counties shot down the bill sponsored by Thirdway Alliance Party.

It has not always been gloom for Dr. Aukot, at least Uasin Gishu accepted the bill. However, the number of counties that have rejected it outweighs those that have accepted it.

The bill needs to garner support from 2/3rds of county assemblies in order to pass and as at this point, even its architect and financiers are beginning to doubt it.

Deputy President William Ruto a few weeks ago distanced himself from the Bill that was though to be one of his 2022 tactics. DP Ruto had told those pushing for the amendment of the current laws to learn from the Punguza Mizigo Initiative, which is being rejected by Kenyans for failing to incorporate their voices.

“It is the people who can decide whether to change the Constitution or not. It is Kenyans who have the final say on issues of changing the Constitution; not a few individuals,” explained the Deputy President.

The following counties have completed debate on the Punguza Mizigo bill; the reasons given by the Members of County Assembly (MCAs) as to why the couldn’t back Aukot’s bill are given below.

1. Garissa County (18 September 2019)

Said that Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) is the only initiative that can save Kenya.

2. Muranga County (17 September 2019)

Murang’a County Assembly said the proposal will sideline minority communities.

3. Homabay County (18 September 2019)

MCAs say they may fail its integrity test.

4. Siaya County (29 August 2019

MCAs say proposed law likely to erode constitutional gains achieved since 2010.

5. Kirinyaga County (11 September 2019)

Kenya cannot work on the whims of Ekuru Aukot.

Fortunately for Kenya, we run on the basis of law not on Ekuru Aukot directives. The Bill was thrown out on the basis of the Law and Standing Orders of the Kirinyaga County Assembly. Period. Even on its merits this Bill is in any event an unfortunate embarrassment. – Anne Waiguru, Kirinyaga County Governor

6. Nyamira County (24 September, 2019)

Nyamira County Assembly leader of majority Duke Masira says the proposal is not inclusive and discriminates minority groups.

7. Kisii County (26 September, 2019)

MCAs cited ‘constitutional irregularities and mischief’

8. Nakuru County (8 October, 2019)

“Having carefully scrutinised the bill, the committee has taken note that the bill is a populist initiative to win favour of ordinary Kenyans while in reality it offers nothing meaningful in terms of substance and process,” the committee observed.

9. Nairobi County (8 October, 2019)

MCAs say the proposal will erode gains made in the country in terms of representation.

10. Makueni County (8 October, 2019)

Majority leader Kyalo Mumo faulted Dr Aukot for not consulting widely when he came up with the initiative.

11. Laikipia County (9 October, 2019)

MCAs say it lacked public participation.

12. Bungoma County (9 October, 2019)

MCAs say it seeks to reduce representation and that will not favour them.

13. Kakamega County (9 October, 2019)

MCAs say it is not all inclusive.

14. Nyeri County (9 October, 2019)

MCAs say the bill is populist; its proposals are not practical.

15. Tharaka Nithi County (9 October, 2019)

MCAs say it is a publicity stunt to gain popularity.

Counties that Passed the Bill

1. Uasin Gishu (3 September 2019)

Tabling the report by the Committee on the Delegated Legislation, committee’s chairperson, Patrick Bundotich said majority of the area residents were in support of the Bill. Another MCA said the Bill was good as it promotes devolution